Spring Break Ideas

Alright everybody, it is officially spring break. Some are whisking away to the coast and waking up to ocean views. Others seek adventure in snowy mountains. But I, I am staying right where I am. It sounds like I am complaining, but really my family has never been the type to travel for spring break. However, this does not mean that I’m not envious of my peers doing fun things, but I know that I can have an adventurous and/or relaxing break if I allow myself to do so. Here are some of the things I think are great alternatives to an expensive trip:

Experience Nature:

Photo by my friend, Emma Garcia

No matter where you are in the world there is beautiful landscape all around. I love taking the opportunity to go hiking or walking on trials or going to nature parks nearby. One of my favorite places to go ever since I was little is Enchanted Rock. It is basically a dome-like

Photo by my friend, Emma Garcia

mountain made out of granite with beautiful trails leading all the way to the top. It is so much fun to see the beautiful creeks and gorgeous view once you reach the top. Plus, the road trip there can make for some great memories!

 

Catch up on Reading:

I never have the time to do both school work and recreational reading. So now is the time to catch up on it! Find that book that you’ve been telling yourself to read and just do it. I’ve been dying to read this book and yes, I am the biggest nerd ever and cannot wait to sit down a read a roughly 800 page biography of a founding father that inspired the beautiful Broadway masterpiece that is Hamilton.

Alexander Hamilton by Ron Chernow

Treat Yo’ Self:

You’ve worked hard. You have made it to the middle of the semester and I bet you are tired. You deserve a week of rest and you should take it. I am so ready to have the luxury of not setting an alarm for 6AM, or any alarms at all, for that matter. Plus, while you’re getting your extra beauty sleep, pamper yourself. Do a nice face mask or go get your nails done.

Go to Concerts:

Nothing says fun like seeing your favorite bands live or even experiencing new musicians you have never heard before. You have a week of free time! Spend it with the best thing…music. In my opinion, Bandsintown.com is the best place to figure out what shows are going on in your area.

Have an awesome break. Be safe, but also not too safe. Have fun! šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

